Poems by Ibrahim Elsayed and Hermes

by qisasukhra

Depending on how you’re counting, seven or ten poems by Ibrahim Elsayed and Hermes, from their respective collections أحد عشر كلبا (Merit, 2014) [Eleven Dogs] and كلاشنكوفي الحبيب (Dar Al Sharqiyat, 2014) [My Darling Kalashnikov]. Poems from both these collections and others by these poets appear in The Tahrir of Poems: Seven Contemporary Egyptian Poets edited and translated by Maged Zaher, and much more about Maged’s book, Ibrahim, Hermes and others can be found here

bb

Ibrahim Alsayed

bb

The Seven Days of Man

bb

As if in a dream I leave the school, the Church of the Virgin Mary at my back, to my left the maker of gold-inlaid coffins. I walk the alleys of the Jewellers’ District alone through ruined wasteland and pillars of leaden black smoke ascend behind the church tower

I forgo an intersection that leads to a blind alley and take the next, ascend as though scaling a small hill till I come upon the tomb of the servant who waited on Al Sayyid Bedawi full forty years and lent the lane his name

On the corner of the street along:

One hundred mourners loft the pale wood casket in August’s humid swelter

I try following the coffin’s progress as they hurry on, bearing the grandmother, dead these many years

bb

At nine

the well-bred boy with rosy cheeks

learns a foreign language, speed-reading,

because he’s no good at football;

He’ll take the thieves’ side every time

in Cops and Robbers:

The first to fall into their clutches,

he informs on his friends

and goes home.

bb 

My need to catch them fades a few steps in

I take a shortcut home

and halfway there, meet Albert Cossery milking his thin cigarette,

sitting outside a single storey house, a bundle of entrails beside him, swollen and hung, the rank stink of corpses filling the street

A gaunt kid dips drums’ clay shells of all sizes into a filthy wooden pail of coloured slip

The boy, on his face a wound whose reddened edges state it’s lately healed, reaches out and picks a small one,

with his finger traces a ragged line, and gives it to me

bb

I return to my grandmother’s house in the next street, its doors open, the big table at its centre, the glasses gone from their place atop the cupboard and filled with rosewater

bb

I sit, proud of my pretty percussive toy,

awaiting the family’s return

from the funeral.

bb  

 ******

 bb

The Discreet Charm of Fascism

bb

The spring of 2012 feels painful with its small yellow flowers that

fill the hospital garden

Dusty Christmas trees seem smaller

and Made in China

Crimson decorations have

the smell of strawberries

overlain by a sticky white film of mould

 bb

This is how my girlfriend fears her body; her non-aligned body:

an entirely unreliable ally in love’s fray

The fascism that flourished in the schools now storms the streets

The lizards roam the lanes

and the state is ghosts that press down on our thin fingers

Military marches summon memories of the Happy Fifties:

Shadia’s pink cheeks, movie melodrama cribbed from

La Dame au Camelias

The new editions are distorted, tanks and other tracked vehicles

occupy the street.

 bb

In the background, mahragan music: national anthem to a great horde of lighter sellers, statesmen, others

 bb

We shall leave the city behind us

making for the desert

The taxis are full

The railways lines cut

We will not leap into the river.

 bb

Waiting:

A continuous swimming within,

and the ugly cement wavebreaks

block the view on either side

The shoreline at our backs

is full of gelatinous bodies

pulsing in the dark:

jellyfish

surprised by a cold wave.

 bb

 ******

 bb

I Hate Energy-Saving Lightbulbs

bb 

Love’s deceitful,

neutrality lies,

involvement is inevitable,

and our cries

are caught like the barking of stray dogs,

their echo rebounding between empty buildings

on the desert’s outskirts.

 bb

****** 

 bb

I wake from sleep like a dog

 bb

My wife informs me as she mixes one glassful of white flour with a little oil and egg,

a little milk:

You need a holiday. You sweat in your sleep and the few clear words you utter in your dreams have become a mutter, faint and indistinct

She talks, rolling a ball of dough out with the same decorated glass over the cold marble then cutting uniform discs with its round rim

bb 

I reflect that dogs are by no means all alike;

That there are bad dogs and others, sweet-tempered

 bb

Instead of arguing I mix white cheese with dill

and olive oil, anticipating breakfast.

 bb

 ************************

bb 

Hermes

 bb

The Nature of Soldiers

 bb

One day, upon a time, stargazing was outlawed.

Suddenly, the crier came onto the city’s streets

and with his drum made from a poet’s hide

proclaimed to the people a royal decree

in which the Sultan did contend that gazing upward fatigued the neck

that stars defiled virgins, prolonged menses,

and robbed men of their minds.

 bb

My comrades and I were the last to hear.

We were on the city’s fringes, without the gates, amidst the fields,

on the hills, in the darkest places.

The crier entered our sanctum

with the look of one who has at last brought down his foe

and said

—a mocking smile—

From today, you must return within the walls,

And ever since, the executioners patrol the horizons

beheading those they chance on gazing at the skies by night.

bb 

Now, twenty years on, I ascend the East Tower;

I ascend and the guards around me touch their helmets in salute;

I ascend to the roof and order the guards to go down once they have extinguished all the torches

and doused the fire they use for warmth.

I take off my heavy helmet and lie on my back, looking heavenward

and filled with strange secrets,

I, who know what grim prophecy led the Sultan to issue his decree.

 bb

One moonless night, like tonight,

an old stargazer came up to the palace, passed through the guards,

I know not how,

came before the Sultan in his chamber and told him

that his Sultanate had brought forth a boy who would kill him and usurp his throne,

possess his women, enslave his children,

and that he was sitting, even now, somewhere, gazing at the stars and hearkening to their secrets.

 bb

When an hour has passed I call the guards

and come down from the East Tower, make for the palace,

and in my eyes a thousand stars shine.

 bb

 ******

 bb

Breakdown in Nothingsville

 bb

I wave at the truck

to tow our grease-filled government car.

The fields of Shabramant whining at suppertime,

and in the rubbish heaps around the canal

I hear snakes hiss.

 bb

I could not be a soldier by night;

my soul left the khaki and brass

and wandered the road alone.

The driver of the truck that towed us

asks me about the army’s sudden breakdown or

just when its ancient vehicles would return

to fill the streets.

 bb

I ponder the infrastructure of societies in crisis,

but the poem steals from the stillness

a scream of yellow-lit asphalt.

 bb

Between villages void of poets

a distant curlew reprises the voices of sundered souls:

madmen who entered the canal in the cast-off rags of soldiers

and emerged, haloed suicides,

bodies clothed in green weed.

 bb

 ******

bb 

From We are the Water-Carrier’s Dolls

 bb

21.

The poem came and the tobacco did not, so I went out for tobacco. In the army. How empty life is in the army. My cares are like sand, hot and fine. My head, a cloud in the June heavens. A mermaid and empty: thus is life. The tobacco came and the poem left, empty and light as an off-duty hour. My comrades sing. We are bare naked, like fighters: nothing left for us but song. And I, in my solitary moment, unburden my soul of friendship that it might stray. And when I sit facing my face, shaving, our eyes don’t meet, so: where did I lose my soul that I might walk the accustomed step—just so—light as a feather, as a golden-haired chance tossed by the waves into the hand of a red-haired boy, scant freckles on his cheeks?

 bb

22.

Anger them. Block all deliverance from their wretched lives and anger them. Sow doubt in their hearts and turn the sleep in their eyes to dust and pus. Colour their faces the blue of awakening from delusion, shatter their comforting dream-screens, pluck hope from their hearts. Slap them with your palms, now; lead will lay them in line. Turn the curdled milk that runs in their tired veins to blood. Heat the pot in which they wait to be eaten. Set the steering wheel in their trembling hands and teach them accidents. If you don’t, living death will lay them low: they’ll roam their defunct hell, the lords and masters—with their prior right to serenity—swapping them back and forth. Torment the masses’ minds. Undo their ease. Lie in wait for them in their hour of rest and ruin for them their cheap deaths.

bb 

23.

Morning is an elderly worker reading his star sign in a paper while the metro sways back and forth eating away at its passengers lives, spent in journeying. The source of the crisis is not clear to you. That they think they’re settled and secure: is that it? Or that they loathe setting out? In any case, the bird does not come in through window; finds no crumbled bread nor a drop of water on the floor. Gradually the day reddens, August, when hash and cognac do not mix. And when you are guided by a knife in your flank you haven’t many options before you. Just to set the song after the song in your head and the memories you have long avoided crumble away. Nothing remains. Curlews and rabbits and tigers and snakes leave your head in a long line headed for the ark. Noah, in evening dress, a glass of absinthe in his hand, dispenses smiles among the passengers. And now his children are collecting the fare from the wolves.

bb

24.

The night is a gloomy officer who stops by the guard-posts every watch in a microbus wheezing down the sandy track. Eternity can resemble a long inspection of this kind and in any case, the dog doesn’t bark in the desert night: it meets no travellers or lost ones living. And the night grows steadily longer with every day that passes in September, when tea loves tobacco, and when you can think no more and are alone and glum, time dies easy. You see your thoughts depart your soul’s sea and slump spent a few steps off across the sand. Your greatest thought crawls through the sand, its only goal to find the tree the wedded couple long for. And without the walls where the palace lies, a titan grips a flaming torch in one hand and a water-jar in the other hand and readies himself for the biggest fall in history.

